Thursday, September 19, 2013

The Story Behind the Song: BREATHING



With so many people asking about the stories behind our songs, I’ve been thinking about sharing them on this blog for quite some time.  Today, the Harvest Moon, seems like a good time start.  These posts will most likely be sporadic, but over time we will share the stories of our songs – the meanings behind them, how they came to be, what inspired them.  



BREATHING – The story behind the song.



On September 19, 2003, Brian lost his best friend in a car accident.  Marnie Gilbert was a vibrant young mother and an incredibly strong and loving woman who touched many lives.  She lives on in hearts of her children and the memories of those who were lucky enough to know and love her.  Brian wrote this song for her.  It describes the accident from three different viewpoints, almost simultaneously.

BREATHING 

(lyrics by Brian Bonell, music by Brian and Leisl Bonell)

The truck how it rolled as it tried to swerve
Fear in her eyes as the whole world turned upside down
Her mind went blank as it all spun all around
The crash and the bang,
Glass shattering
Now lay quiet and still as the chaos ensued
The whole confused scene that was desperate indeed
She laid there and she looked,
As her as her eyes took in
There was breathing.

Off in the distance, the siren’s song started.
It trickled and tumbled and cleared out the haze.
People were standing, and then there was screaming,
the wailing was coming from deep down inside of her
Blood on the ground,
Glass all around
But, why was her truck sitting there upside down?
She looked to the left and was frightened to see
Was she breathing?

Crashing and crumbling and speeding and tumbling and turning and crashing and spinning and fumbling and skidding and yelling and cursing and sliding and turning and turning and turning and spinning

They picked up the scene and took her from me
As the sun in the sky had just finished setting
This whole scattered dream, wasn’t real, could it be?
Mixed with the blood and death and ruin
We only just left to go get some food
We were hungry and it, was late in the evening
This simplest of tasks had just taken her life
She’s not breathing

Off in the distance, the siren’s song started
It trickled and tumbled and cleared out the haze.
People were standing, and then there was screaming,
the wailing was coming from deep down inside of her
Blood on the ground,
Glass all around
But, why was her truck sitting there upside down?
She looked to the left and was frightened to see
She stopped breathing.


Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Trifecta 2 & house mix

Trifecta 2 was last Friday - Friday the 13th even!  And it was an amazing time!
























Thank you, so much, to everybody who came and partied with us and made the night an event to remember.  We are really looking forward to next year's bash!  Bring on Trifecta 3!



A lot of people have been asking about the house mix that was playing between sets.  Super cool stuff, huh?  So, I thought it would be cool to provide a list of the artists that were included in said list.  And I really like sharing new music discoveries with people.  So, here they are!

The Blue Valentines - http://www.reverbnation.com/thebluevalentines
Ojos de Brujo - http://www.lenacay.com
Yamal - http://www.last.fm/music/Yamal
Alabama 3 - http://www.alabama3.co.uk
The Bastard Fairies - http://www.thebastardfairies.com
Blind Boys of Alabama - http://www.blindboys.com
Clare Fader & The Vaudevillains - http://www.clarefader.com
The Dead Brothers - http://www.deadbrothers.com
Diablo Swing Orchestra - http://www.diabloswing.com
Diego's Umbrella - http://www.diegosumbrella.com
Firewater - https://www.bloodshotrecords.com/artist/firewater
Flying Balalaika Brothers - http://www.russiafbb.com
Gogol Bordello - http://www.gogolbordello.com
Goran Bregovic - http://www.goranbregovic.rs
     featuring Selina O'Leary
     featuring Eugene Hutz of Gogol Bordello
Hellblinki - http://www.hellblinki.com
Huxley Vertical Cabaret Nouveau - http://www.reverbnation.com/huxleyvertical
The Inheritance - http://www.reverbnation.com/theinheritance
Jesca Hoop - http://www.jescahoop.com
Katzenjammer - http://www.katzenjammer.no
Mama Rosin - http://www.mamarosin.com
Mountain of Love - http://mountainoflove.org
Nico Vega - http://nicovega.com
Nigel Birch & the Flea-Pit Orchestra -http://www.reverbnation.com/nigelburchandthefleapitorchestra
Numsig - http://www.reverbnation.com/numsig
Omnia - http://www.worldofomnia.com
The Penny Black Remedy - http://thepennyblackremedy.com
Seagull Strange - https://www.facebook.com/pages/Seagull-Strange/9062228058
Squirrel Nut Zippers - http://snzippers.com
The Tiger & Me - http://www.thetigerandme.com.au
Tom Waits - http://www.tomwaits.com
The Urban Voodoo Machine - http://www.theurbanvoodoomachine.com
Vera Bila & Kale - http://www.last.fm/music/Vera+Bila
Vic Ruggiero - http://vicruggiero.com
Walking Wounded - https://myspace.com/walkingwoundedlondon
Ленинград (Leningrad) - https://www.facebook.com/pages/Leningrad/104066502964166
Taraf de Haidouks vs Bucovina Club - https://www.facebook.com/pages/Taraf-de-Haidouks/168765773134338
My Wooden Leg - http://www.reverbnation.com/mywoodenleg
Fishtank Ensemble - http://www.fishtankensemble.com
The Great Malarkey - http://thegreatmalarkey.com
Kagero - http://www.kagero.com
Bad Buka  - http://www.badbuka.com
Jacopo de Nicola - http://jacopodenicola.com
The Lucky Jukebox Brigade - http://www.theluckyjukeboxbrigade.com
Pixies http://www.pixiesmusic.com


ENJOY!